# Sharing controls


By default, any team member can share their VMs publicly or with people
outside the team. Admins can lock this down so that only admins (and the
billing owner) decide how broadly team VMs are exposed.

## Viewing settings

Run `team settings` to see the current sharing mode:

```
team settings
```

```
Team settings:
  vm-sharing: all-members
```

## Changing the sharing mode

Only team admins and the billing owner can change sharing settings:

```
team settings vm-sharing <admins-only|all-members>
```

There are two modes:

- **`all-members`** (default). Any team member can make a VM public
  (`share set-public`) and grant Web or Root access to external accounts
  (`share add <vm> <email> [--root]`).
- **`admins-only`**. Regular members can no longer make VMs public or grant
  access to people outside the team. Only admins and the billing owner can.

Switching to `admins-only`:

```
team settings vm-sharing admins-only
```

Sharing a VM with the whole team (`share add <vm> team`) and granting the
whole team Root access (`share add <vm> team --root`) are unaffected by this
setting.

See the [sharing docs](/docs/sharing) for how the underlying share
mechanisms work, and [Team VMs](/docs/teams/vms) for team-scoped sharing.
